What is a hate crime in Louisiana?
Louisiana's hate crime law is detailed in Louisiana statute 14.107.2,
According to the law, a person can be charged with a hate crime if it is believed they committed one of the below-listed crimes and targeted their victim or their victim's property based on "actual or perceived race, age, gender, religion, color, creed, disability, sexual orientation, national origin, or ancestry." Under Louisiana law, targeting a person because he or she is a law enforcement officer, firefighter, or emergency medical services personnel is also considered a hate crime. Again, the victim can't just be one of these things, the suspect needs to have targeted the victim
one of these things.
Crimes which trigger Louisiana's hate crime law are:
If the triggering crime is a felony, the suspect will be charged with a felony hate crime. The punishment for a felony hate crime is a fine of up to $5,000 and up to 5 years in jail. For a misdemeanor, it is a fine of up to $500 and up to 6 months in jail.