Union and Lincoln law enforcement release joint statement on George Floyd

Published: Jun. 4, 2020 at 5:33 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Authorities with multiple Northeast Louisiana law enforcement agencies have released a joint statement following the death of George Floyd in Minnesota.

The statement is as follows:

As law enforcement officers of Lincoln and Union Parishes, we are all saddened by the tragic death of George Floyd. Those responsible must be prosecuted and held accountable. The fair administration of justice demands nothing less and we are committed to the fair administration of justice.
One of the best statements about this current tragedy is from former NFL Coach Tony Dungy. “What happened to George Floyd was inexcusable and it should never happen. Justice needs to be served, but in seeking justice we can’t fall into the trap of prejudging every police officer we see.” Dungy said. We condemn the actions of those who defile the memory of Mr. Floyd by committing theft, arson and violence in response to his tragic death.
The scriptures tell us that the Lord requires of us to do justice and not to be overcome by evil, but to overcome evil with good. (Micah 6:8 and Romans 12:21)
Just a few days ago, on Memorial Day, we honored those who made the ultimate sacrifice for our freedoms. In our country, those freedoms include justice for everyone, free speech and the right to assemble and protest peacefully.
On behalf of the Lincoln and Union Parish communities we represent as Police Chiefs, Sheriffs and the District Attorney, we reiterate our commitment to protect our communities while upholding those freedoms of free speech and peaceful protest.

Bernice Chief of Police Eddie Horton

Choudrant Chief of Police Bobby Joe Milner

Dubach Chief of Police Don Dufour

Downsville Chief of Police Earl Roberts

Farmerville Chief of Police Bim Coulberston

Grambling Chief of Police Tommy Clark

Junction City Chief of Police Andre Benson

Marion Chief of Police Mark Dodd

Ruston Chief of Police Steve Rogers

Simsboro Chief of Police Sandy Freeman

Spearsville Chief of Police Joe Bryan

Grambling University Chief of Police Jerry Melton

Louisiana Tech University Chief of Police Randal Hermes

Lincoln Parish Sheriff Mike Stone

Lincoln Parish Sheriff-Elect Stephen Williams

Union Parish Sheriff Dusty Gates

Lincoln and Union Parish District Attorney John Belton

Latest News

Latest News