Five candidates qualify to run for mayor of Monroe

MONROE, La. (KNOE) - Incumbent mayor Jamie Mayo will face four challengers in his race for reelection.

According to the Louisiana Secretary of State's website, five candidates have qualified for the Monroe mayor's race.

They are:

  • L. Marie Brown (D)
  • Friday Ellis (I)
  • Fredrick Louis (D)
  • "Jamie" Mayo (D)
  • Ronnie Scott (L)

The deadline to qualify for the race was 4:30 p.m. on January 10, 2020.

The election is April 4th, 2020.