One additional NELA parish approved for FEMA disaster assistance, apply here

Hurricane Laura Storm Damage in the ArkLaMiss
Hurricane Laura Storm Damage in the ArkLaMiss(Source: Kent Hughes)
Published: Aug. 30, 2020 at 7:05 PM CDT|Updated: Sep. 13, 2020 at 12:55 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

<<< UPDATE - SEPT. 13>>>

Officials have announced Caddo, La Salle, and St. Landry Parishes have been approved for FEMA disaster assistance. For more information on how to apply, click here.

That brings the total number of parishes where residents are eligible for aid to 21.

The parishes now included are: Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Caddo, Calcasieu, Cameron, Grant, Jackson, Jefferson Davis, La Salle, Lincoln, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Sabine, St. Landry, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, and Winn.

“Hurricane Laura traveled the length of Louisiana, bringing with it hurricane force winds in areas that simply haven’t seen that type of weather before. This FEMA aid will help the people of these two parishes recover, and I encourage all residents affected by the storm to register for assistance,” Gov. Edwards said. “To date, FEMA has registered 131,349 Louisiana survivors since Hurricane Laura, with $73 million in aid already paid out. We continue to advocate to FEMA and the White House for additional assistance so that we can make sure that the survivors of Hurricane Laura are not forgotten.”

Federal FEMA assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans for uninsured property loss and other programs to help people and businesses recover from Hurricane Laura.

<<< UPDATE >>>

On September 1, 2020, Gov. John Bel Edwards announced that FEMA has approved an additional seven Louisiana parishes for Individual Assistance following Hurricane Laura, bringing the total number of parishes where residents are eligible for aid to 16. The newly approved parishes are Rapides, Natchitoches, Sabine, Winn, Grant, Jackson and Lincoln.

“These parishes were affected when Hurricane Laura made its way up our state, keeping its hurricane-strength winds until it exited. These residents should begin applying for aid from FEMA now. More than 71,000 Louisianans have already applied for FEMA Individual Assistance following Hurricane Laura,” Gov. Edwards said. “We continue to make the case for the additional parishes to be approved because of the severity of this terrible storm.”

<<< UPDATE >>>

On September 1, 2020, Governor Edwards announced that FEMA approved his request for individual assistance for those in Acadia, Ouachita, and Vermillion parishes. His request for another 14 parishes is still waiting on federal approval.

Federal FEMA assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans for uninsured property loss, and other programs to help people and businesses recover from Hurricane Laura.

People who sustained losses in Hurricane Laura in the designated parishes of Acadia, Allen, Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis, Ouachita, Vermilion, and Vernon can begin applying for assistance.

You can register online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or 1-800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time) seven days a week until further notice.

More than 10,000 Louisianans are sheltered in state, with thousands more in Texas hotels as well. If you need shelter, text LASHELTER to 898-211 for information about where to go or call 211.

“To those in the 14 parishes awaiting FEMA approval for assistance, know that we are advocating for you each and every day, and we know the loss you suffered in this devastating storm, which has been followed by many days of power outages We will continue to make the case to FEMA for all requested parishes to be approved for Individual Assistance,” Gov. Edwards in a post on Facebook.


MONROE, La. (KNOE) - Senator John Kennedy has asked President Donald Trump to add Ouachita, Lincoln, and more parishes to the major disaster declaration issued on Aug. 28, 2020.

Kennedy said he asked the president to extend the declaration so that the communities in those parishes can receive resources needed to rebuild.

“Yesterday, President Trump took the time to see for himself what our state is up against in the wake of Hurricane Laura. I personally asked the president to add Rapides, Vernon, Grant, LaSalle, Ouachita, and Lincoln Parishes—among many others—to the disaster declaration so these communities can receive the resources they need to rebuild.

“I’m grateful for the quick response from the president and his administration, who declared a major disaster for the Lake Charles area on Friday. Since I spoke with the president on Saturday, the administration has already begun expanding the list of parishes eligible for assistance to help individual Louisianians and public facilities recover.

“The storm pummeled Louisiana from north to south. Central and North Louisiana have experienced unimaginable disaster, and we can’t afford to forget any hurting communities.I’m hopeful that more help is on the way to our parishes,” said Kennedy.

On Aug. 28, 2020, Sen. Kennedy led the Louisiana delegation in asking the president for a disaster declaration. The declaration releases funds to assist people and communities in recovering from damage due to Hurricane Laura.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is already assessing the damage Hurricane Laura did to other parishes in order to make those communities eligible for more aid.

On Aug. 30, 2020, FEMA added Vernon Parish to the major declaration disaster, designating the parish for individual and public assistance.

Copyright 2020 KNOE. All rights reserved.

Latest News

Latest News