UPDATE: Post-Laura burn bans lifted for most Louisiana parishes

Published: Aug. 31, 2020 at 11:54 AM CDT|Updated: Sep. 15, 2020 at 12:54 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

MONROE, La. (KNOE) - The state fire marshal’s office has announced modifications in the burn bans issued after Hurricane Laura.

Officials announced Tuesday afternoon that burn bans have been lifted for all parishes, except Cameron and Calcasieu.


State Fire Marshal H. “Butch” Browning and Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain have lifted the cease and desist order for all private burning, pursuant to authority under R.S. 40:1602, for the following parishes: Allen, Beauregard, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, Grant, Jackson, Jeff Davis, LaSalle, Lincoln, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Rapides, Red River, Sabine, Union, Vernon and Winn.


The cease and desist order remains in place for Calcasieu and Cameron parishes. Private burning shall only be allowed by permission of the local fire department or local government.

This revised order is effective as of 8 a.m., September 15, 2020 and shall remain in effect until rescinded.

Officials say the ban does not apply to prescribed burns by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, by those trained and certified by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, or by those who conduct prescribed burning as a “generally accepted agriculture practice” as defined by the Louisiana Right to Farm Law (R.S. 3:3601 et seq.).

They say violations of this fire marshal order could result in criminal and/or civil penalties.

Copyright 2020 KNOE. All rights reserved.