USDA designates La. drought disaster areas - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; |

USDA designates La. drought disaster areas

Posted: Updated:
Source: AP Source: AP

BATON ROUGE, La (KNOE 8 News) – Wednesday, the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry received notice from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) that 21 Louisiana parishes and seven contiguous parishes are now designated natural disaster areas as a result of the drought.  

Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, De Soto, East Carroll, Grant, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Union, Vernon, Webster, West Carroll and Winn parishes are declared primary natural disaster areas. The seven parishes named as contiguous disaster areas are: Allen, Beauregard, Caldwell, Franklin, LaSalle, Rapides and Tensas.  

Commissioner Mike Strain said, "As we all know, mother nature is extremely unpredictable. Those farmers who are falling on hard times as a result of the drought can now get some assistance to possibly alleviate some of the hardship." 

A federal disaster designation makes farm operators in primary and contiguous areas eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes low interest FSA emergency loans.

Farmers and ranchers may get more information from their local FSA offices.


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.