Bebee declares 15 Arkansas counties disaster areas - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; |

Bebee declares 15 Arkansas counties disaster areas

Posted: Updated:

LITTLE ROCK, Ar., (KNOE 8 News) - Gov. Mike Beebe has declared 15 counties as disaster areas following strong storms across the state that included tornadoes and left five people injured.

Beebe announced the declaration one day after the storm crossed Arkansas. The governor also announced that he's released $10,000 from the Governor's Disaster Fund to help pay for the immediate costs of responding to the storms.

The declaration makes it easier for local governments to coordinate with the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and other state agencies allows the local governments to better utilize Arkansas Department of Correction work crews to assist with debris removal.

The counties included in the declaration are Cleburne, Conway, Garland, Hot Spring, Independence, Izard, Lincoln, Montgomery, Polk, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White, and Yell.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.