Papal selection process and schedule - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; KNOE.com |

Papal selection process and schedule

Posted: Updated:

VATICAN CITY, It., (KNOE 8 News) - The conclave to elect a new pope begins Tuesday at the Vatican. The voting process follows a set ritual every day until the Catholic Church has a new leader. Here is an approximate schedule. Local time listed first.

TUESDAY

  • 10 a.m.-11:45 a.m. (5 a.m.-6:45 a.m. EDT; 0900-1045 GMT): Cardinals attend Mass in St Peter's Basilica, then return to their Vatican hotel.
  • 3:45 p.m. (10:45 a.m. EDT; 1445 GMT): Cardinals travel from their hotel to the Apostolic Palace.
  • 4:30 p.m. (11:30 a.m. EDT; 1530 GMT): Procession from the Pauline Chapel into the Sistine Chapel.
  • 4:45 p.m.-8 p.m. (11:45 a.m.-3 p.m. EDT; 1545-1900 GMT): Each cardinal takes an oath, most likely followed by the first vote. If the vote yields a new pope, white smoke will emerge from the chimney; if not the smoke will be black.
  • 8 p.m. (3 p.m. EDT; 1900 GMT): Cardinals pray in the Sistine Chapel.
  • 8:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m. EDT; 1930 GMT): Cardinals return to their hotel.

WEDNESDAY AND ONWARD

  • 7:45 a.m. (2:45 a.m. EDT; 0645 GMT): Cardinals travel to the Pauline Chapel.
  • 8:15 a.m. (3:15 a.m. EDT; 0715 GMT): Mass in the Pauline Chapel.
  • 9:30 a.m. (4:30 a.m. EDT; 0830 GMT): Prayer in the Sistine Chapel, voting starts.
  • 12:30 p.m. (7:30 a.m. EDT; 1130 GMT): Cardinals retire to their hotel for lunch.
  • 4 p.m. (11 a.m. EDT; 1500 GMT): Cardinals return to the Sistine Chapel.
  • 4:50 p.m. (11:50 a.m. EDT; 1540 GMT): Voting in the Sistine Chapel.
  • 7:15 p.m. (2:15 p.m. EDT; 1815 GMT): Prayer in the Sistine Chapel.
  • 7:30 p.m. (2:30 p.m. EDT; 1830 GMT): Cardinals return to their hotel.

PAUSES

After three full days of voting, the cardinals break for a day of prayer and reflection, then resume for another seven ballots. The first pause will be on Saturday if no pope has been selected before that.

THE SMOKE

Smoke will emerge from the chimney once at the end of the morning session - about 12 p.m. (7 a.m. EDT; 1100 GMT) - and again at the end of the afternoon session - about 7 p.m. (2 p.m. EDT; 1800 GMT). But if an earlier vote yields a pope, white smoke would emerge at that time, ending the conclave.

Once white smoke emerges from the chimney, a bell at the St. Peter's Basilica rings. Within an hour, the man who was selected emerges onto the balcony and his identity is known.

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • Man snatches purse of 75 year old woman at Glenwood Hospital

    Man snatches purse of 75 year old woman at Glenwood Hospital

    Monday, September 1 2014 10:13 PM EDT2014-09-02 02:13:05 GMT
    WEST MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A West Monroe man was arrest early Monday morning for snatching the purse of a victim over 65 years old.
    WEST MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A West Monroe man was arrest early Monday morning for snatching the purse of a victim over 65 years old.
  • Black bear plays hide-and-seek in Winnsboro

    Black bear plays hide-and-seek in Winnsboro

    Sunday, August 31 2014 3:16 PM EDT2014-08-31 19:16:24 GMT
    WINNSBORO, La. (KNOE 8 News) - One KNOE viewer sent in some cute video of what looks to be a Louisiana Black Bear hanging out in a rice field.
    WINNSBORO, La. (KNOE 8 News) - One KNOE viewer sent in some cute video of what looks to be a Louisiana Black Bear hanging out in a rice field.
  • Woman sentenced in silicone injection case

    Woman sentenced in silicone injection case

    Tuesday, September 2 2014 1:57 PM EDT2014-09-02 17:57:05 GMT
    JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - A Mississippi woman convicted of killing a Georgia woman through illicit silicone buttocks injections has been sentenced to life in prison.
    JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - A Mississippi woman convicted of killing a Georgia woman through illicit silicone buttocks injections has been sentenced to life in prison.
  • Union Parish makes two DUI arrests over holiday weekend

    Union Parish makes two DUI arrests over holiday weekend

    Tuesday, September 2 2014 2:42 PM EDT2014-09-02 18:42:33 GMT
    UNION PARISH, La. (KNOE 8 News UPSO) - Union Parish sheriff's deputies made two driving while intoxicated arrests over the Labor Day weekend. James Daniel Autrey, 18, of Cherry Ridge Road, Farmerville, was booked on a total of 11 traffic violations.
    UNION PARISH, La. (KNOE 8 News UPSO) - Union Parish sheriff's deputies made two driving while intoxicated arrests over the Labor Day weekend. James Daniel Autrey, 18, of Cherry Ridge Road, Farmerville, was booked on a total of 11 traffic violations.
  • Man accused of stabbing his nephew

    Man accused of stabbing his nephew

    Monday, September 1 2014 4:10 PM EDT2014-09-01 20:10:07 GMT
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - Monroe Police have arrested a Monroe man for stabbing his nephew. Police say the Donald Ray Myles and victim got into an altercation Thursday night around 10:30. Police say Myles stabbed the victim with a steak knife, and then the victim was rushed to the hospital. 
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - Monroe Police have arrested a Monroe man for stabbing his nephew. Police say the Donald Ray Myles and victim got into an altercation Thursday night around 10:30. Police say Myles stabbed the victim with a steak knife, and then the victim was rushed to the hospital. 
  • Family: Joan Rivers on life support

    Family: Joan Rivers on life support

    Tuesday, September 2 2014 1:45 PM EDT2014-09-02 17:45:42 GMT
    NEW YORK (AP) - Joan Rivers' family is confirming that the comedian is on life support after going into cardiac arrest last week during a procedure at a doctor's office. Her daughter, Melissa Rivers, said in a statement Tuesday that her mother is on life support "at this time." Melissa said the family is extremely grateful for the public support. Joan Rivers was taken to Mount Sinai Hospital in Manhattan last Thursday. The 81-year-old comic and red carpet commentator has maintained a busy car...
    NEW YORK (AP) - Joan Rivers' family is confirming that the comedian is on life support after going into cardiac arrest last week during a procedure at a doctor's office. Her daughter, Melissa Rivers, said in a statement Tuesday that her mother is on life support "at this time." Melissa said the family is extremely grateful for the public support. Joan Rivers was taken to Mount Sinai Hospital in Manhattan last Thursday. The 81-year-old comic and red carpet commentator has maintained a busy car...
  • Second arrest made in April 2013 murder

    Second arrest made in April 2013 murder

    Saturday, August 30 2014 3:00 PM EDT2014-08-30 19:00:56 GMT
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A second arrest has been made in the April 2013 murder of Steve Brown.
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A second arrest has been made in the April 2013 murder of Steve Brown.
  • Two suspects wanted for armed robbery

    Two suspects wanted for armed robbery

    Monday, September 1 2014 12:07 PM EDT2014-09-01 16:07:03 GMT
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - Monroe police are looking for two suspects that robbed a Kangaroo convenient store. Police say two black males entered the store, located at 4320 Desaird Street, around 3:15 Friday morning. They say the suspects robbed the store at gun point and police were able to able to get a photo of one suspect. That suspect is described as a younger black male over six feet and it appears he is wearing a Neville sweatshirt. He is considered armed and dangerous. 
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - Monroe police are looking for two suspects that robbed a Kangaroo convenient store. Police say two black males entered the store, located at 4320 Desaird Street, around 3:15 Friday morning. They say the suspects robbed the store at gun point and police were able to able to get a photo of one suspect. That suspect is described as a younger black male over six feet and it appears he is wearing a Neville sweatshirt. He is considered armed and dangerous. 
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.