Grambling State University Police Department under investigation - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; KNOE.com |

Grambling State University Police Department under internal review

Posted: Updated:

GRAMBLING, La. (KNOE 8 News) - The Grambling State University Police Department is undergoing an internal probe by school leaders.

GSU officials tell us they are investigating complaints but are tight lipped about the details. An internal review within the GSU PD has been going on for two weeks. But who is being investigated and why, remains a mystery. "We cannot discuss any specific personnel...because we have careers and livelihoods at stake and we want to be fair to everyone," said GSU Public Relations Director Will Sutton.

Regardless of the ongoing investigation, many of the students we spoke with say they still feel safe on campus. "I feel safe I've never had any problems with anyone," said one student. "I feel like we have good security on campus," said another.

But others learning of the campus police investigation say they're upset they weren't told sooner. "We should have known about it, because we are all a part of Grambling," said one student. "I feel that we pay enough to be able to know what's happening on campus," said another.

Sutton says safety is a high priority for the campus and the internal investigation won't compromise that. "Our biggest job is the safety of our students". Also part of that job, Sutton says, is taking all allegations in every department seriously. "Any time we get a concern or complaint we take a look at every single one, whether it comes from a parent, a student, faculty or staff or community person," said Sutton.

The university says right now there's no timeline for completion of the in-depth investigation into it's own department.

  • Most Popular StoriesMost Popular StoriesMore>>

  • West Monroe woman charged with bigamy

    West Monroe woman charged with bigamy

    Sunday, April 20 2014 2:37 PM EDT2014-04-20 18:37:50 GMT
    WEST MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A Ouachita Parish woman has been arrest for bigamy after one of her husbands filed a complaint.
    WEST MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A Ouachita Parish woman has been arrest for bigamy after one of her husbands filed a complaint.
  • Cypress Inn shut down due to structural issues

    Cypress Inn shut down due to structural issues

    Friday, April 18 2014 7:58 PM EDT2014-04-18 23:58:50 GMT
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A Monroe landmark restaurant is closed by the state of Louisiana.
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A Monroe landmark restaurant is closed by the state of Louisiana.
  • Inmates may get video visitation

    Inmates may get video visitation

    Friday, October 25 2013 8:09 PM EDT2013-10-26 00:09:44 GMT
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - If you have ever visited anyone at the OCC, chances are you went through extensive security and only had a few hours to get your visit in. Well the warden wants to change that.
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - If you have ever visited anyone at the OCC, chances are you went through extensive security and only had a few hours to get your visit in. Well the warden wants to change that
  • Reaction: Louisiana State Trooper Arrested

    Reaction: Louisiana State Trooper Arrested

    Wednesday, March 20 2013 12:36 PM EDT2013-03-20 16:36:53 GMT
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A Louisiana State Trooper is facing charges after a year long investigation. The officer was based out of Monroe.
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - A Louisiana State Trooper is facing charges after a year long investigation. The officer was based out of Monroe.
  • Jenna Browder

    Jenna Browder

    Jenna Browder, Anchor for KNOE 8 News at 5, 6, and 10.
    Jenna Browder, Anchor for KNOE 8 News at 5, 6, and 10.
  • Monroe man second arrest in Lil' Snupe murder

    Monroe man second arrest in Lil' Snupe murder

    June 25, 2013 10:44 PM 2013-07-08 21:21:39 GMT
    WINNFIELD, La. (KNOE 8 News ) - Update: Winnfield Police have made a second arrest in the continuing investigation of the homicide death of Addarren Ross, aka "Lil Snupe". 
    WINNFIELD, La. (KNOE 8 News ) - Update: Winnfield Police have made a second arrest in the continuing investigation of the homicide death of Addarren Ross, aka "Lil Snupe". 
  • The Vision Show and Conference to be held in Boston, April 15-17, 2014

    The Vision Show and Conference to be held in Boston, April 15-17, 2014

    The Vision Show, North America's largest vision and imaging trade show and conference, will be held in Boston, Massachusetts at the Hynes Convention Center, April 15-17, 2014. AIA, the world's largest trade...
    The Vision Show, North America's largest vision and imaging trade show and conference, will be held in Boston, Massachusetts at the Hynes Convention Center, April 15-17, 2014. AIA, the world's largest trade...
  • Union Parish closes two schools

    Union Parish closes two schools

    Wednesday, January 15 2014 7:40 PM EST2014-01-16 00:40:58 GMT
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - If your kids go to school in Union Parish. They'll soon be riding the school bus to Farmerville.
    MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - If your kids go to school in Union Parish. They'll soon be riding the school bus to Farmerville.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.