President declares Mississippi counties disaster area - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; |

President declares Mississippi counties disaster area

Posted: Updated: Feb 14, 2013 08:11 AM

WASHINGTON, D.C. (KNOE 8 News) - President Obama declared the areas in Mississippi effected by Sunday's tornado federal disaster areas.

Federal funding will now be available to those in Forrest and Lamar counties after an EF-4 strength tornado tore through Hattiesburg.

Those effected by the storm will be able to receive grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low cost loans to cover uninsured property damage, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.