Arkansas house members sworn in - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; |

Arkansas house members sworn in

Posted: Updated:

LITTLE ROCK, Ar., (KNOE 8 News) - The Arkansas House has sworn in its 100 members on the first day of the legislative session.

Speaker Davy Carter urged House members to work together as they tackle the issues in this year's session. The Republican from Cabot also said that although the chamber has made history by becoming the first Republican-led House since Reconstruction, members will be judged by what they can accomplish.

The House gaveled in its session at midday.

Carter also named new leaders for House committees. Rep. James McLean, a Democrat from Batesville, will lead the Education Committee, while Republican Rep. John Burris of Harrison will be chairman of the Public Health, Welfare and Labor Committee.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.