Monroe City, School Board, Superintendent, Search, Applicants - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; |

Monroe City School Board Superintendent Search

Posted: Updated:

MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - There are five new applications for the Monroe City School Board Superintendent job, bringing the total to seven.

The superintendent search committee is one step closer to finalizing the process to pick a leader for the district.

Search Committee Chair, Rodney McFarland says, "I'm very excited because at first we only had two now we are up to seven, and more to come I know more will be coming, some are just waiting to the last minute to apply for the position."

Right now, there are 3 candidates from across the country, one as far away as California.

There are 4 from Louisiana and two from the twin cities.

McFarland feels like they've accomplished a lot.

He says, "we got the names of the individuals that will be considered to serves on the committee so that's a great start for us then the attorney put a structure together on how they are going to evaluate the candidates and disqualify those that's not qualified."

The screening committee is made up of 21 people who serve in different areas of Monroe.

Board attorney, Douglas Lawrence, developed guidelines the screening committee will use to evaluate the candidates.

There are 11 categories including experience in the classroom and with budgets.

A check list of application requirements must also be completed by every job candidate.

McFarland says, "when the search committee completes there job then it will come back to the board, the full board then we will meet behind closed doors and come up with a candidate."

He says the school board has an option to not choose any of the screening committee's nominations.

The school board will vote to approve the search committee guidelines when it meets December 18th.

Applications for the position are due Friday.

Screening Committee Nominations:

Principals: Ann Cook, Angela Manning, Sam Moore

Teachers: Debra Jones, Darrell Cluck, Janice Fleming

Classified: Melvin Morrison

ULM: Dr. Betty Kaufman

Monroe Chamber of Commerce: Isaac White, Jr.

Unions/Associations: Lonnie Hudson, Angela Miller, Sandie Lollie

Rodney McFaland's Nominee: Rev. James E. Jackson

Vickie Krutzer's Nominee: Melanie Hurd

Verbon Muhammad's Nominee: Anna Reed

Vickie Dayton's Nominee: Jennifer Haneline

Mickey Traweek's Nominee: Bill Wilson

Glenn Ludley & Clarence Sharp: No Nominee


Full list of Applicants received thru 12/11/12
Rubric Guidelines document

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.