All districts represented on Monroe City Council - KNOE 8 News; KNOE-TV; |

All districts represented on Monroe City Council

Posted: Updated:

MONROE, La. (KNOE 8 News) - Elections are over and the last seat on the Monroe City Council has been filled by runoff winner Betty Blakes.

"I want to thank God and thank all the residents of District 3 for allowing me to be their district councilwoman," says Blakes.

During the last few weeks of the campaign, Blakes said she wasn't going to rely on the fact that she was the front-runner in the general election in November.

Blakes says she is happy to see that even more voters turned out in her favor Saturday.

"It let's me know that they care about me, and they went back again and voted and gave me 59% and I'm thankful for it," Blakes says.

She will join the board with another new member, Kenneth Wilson. Wilson ran against three other candidates for the District 4 seat left vacant by Dr. Glenda Smith-Starr.

Also new to the council is Ray Armstrong representing District 1. A former mayoral candidate, Armstrong ran unopposed in the City Council race.

Returning District 5 City Councilman Eddie Clark was also unopposed. Clark and Armstrong both say they are happy they didn't have to campaign this year.

Incumbent Gretchen Ezernack faced off against two others in District 2. She clinched 51 percent of the vote in the general election and keeps her seat on the council.

After winning, each of the candidates expressed that they will remain true to their campaign promises.

"All great things for District 3, what I said in the beginning, it still stands," says Blakes.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KNOE. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.